North-Peruvian State: Polity Style: 1836-1839 - Archontology
HomeNationsPeruNorth-Peruvian StatePolity Style: 1836-1839

North-Peruvian State: Polity Style: 1836-1839

11 Aug 1836 departamentos of Amazonas, Junín, Libertad and Lima constitute an independent state under the name of Estado Nor-Peruano (North-Peruvian State), organic law (passed 6 Aug 1836 by the assembly of North Peru, Huaura; promulgated 11 Aug 1836) [Coleccíon Quirós, 5:304-307]
11 Aug 1836 - 17 Feb 1839 Estado Nor-Peruano [1]
28 Oct 1836 Bolivia, South-Peruvian State and North-Peruvian State constitute a confederation under the name of Confederación Perú-Boliviana, decree signed and promulgated in Lima 28 Oct 1836 [Coleccíon Quirós, 5:409-410]
30 Jul 1838 proclaimed an independent and free state, decree signed 30 Jul 1838 in Lima [Coleccíon Quirós, 6:98-99] [2]
17 Feb 1839 polity disintegrates upon the occupation of the seat of government by the armed forces of Peru

[1] In official use from 1837 on coins, etc.: República del Norte del Perú and República Nor-Peruana.
[2] Proclamation is decreed by an acting head of the state government heretofore exercising the functions of Supremo Protector del Estado Nor-Peruano in defiance of the incumbent; independent status is effectively applied only to the territories of North Peru in submission to Presidente Provisorio de la República originally based in Lima (to 22 Aug 1838) and then in Callao (to ? Nov 1838).