Biography of McAleese, Mary (Mhic Giolla Íosa, Máire) - Archontology
HomeNationsIrelandHeads of StateMcAleese, Mary (Mhic Giolla Íosa, Máire)
McAleese, Mary (Mhic Giolla Íosa, Máire)

Máire Pádraigín Mhic Giolla Íosa = Mary Patricia McAleese

b. 27 Jun 1951, Belfast

Title: Uachtarán na hÉireann = President of Ireland
Term: 11 Nov 1997 - 10 Nov 2004
Chronology: 30 Oct 1997, elected President by direct vote
11 Nov 1997, sworn in, St Patrick's Hall, Dublin Castle, Dublin
10 Nov 2004, term expired
Term: 11 Nov 2004 - 10 Nov 2011
Chronology: 1 Oct 2004, declared to have been elected by a certificate issued by the Presidential Returning Officer (unopposed nomination) [3]
11 Nov 2004, sworn in, St Patrick's Hall, Dublin Castle, Dublin
  10 Nov 2011, term expired
Names/titles: née Máire Pádraigín Ní Lionnacháin = Mary Patricia Leneghan; surname changed to Mhic Giolla Íosa = McAleese upon her marriage (9 Mar 1976)

Educated at Queen's University Belfast (QUB), the Inn of Court of Northern Ireland, Trinity College, Dublin, and the Institute of Linguists. She became a member of the Bar in both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. In 1975 she was appointed Reid Professor of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology in Trinity College Dublin, succeeding Mary Robinson. She held that position until 1979 when she joined RTÉ, the national state-owned radio and television broadcaster, as a journalist and presenter. She remained full-time in RTÉ until 1981 when she returned to the Reid Professorship while still working for RTÉ in a part-time capacity for a further four years. In 1987 she became the director of the Institute of Professional Legal Studies at QUB, a position she held until 1997, she was Pro-Vice Chancellor of Queen's from 1994 to 1997. A nationalist and a committed Roman Catholic, she was a member of the Catholic Church Episcopal Delegation to the New Ireland Forum in 1984 and a member of the Catholic Church delegation to the North Commission on Contentious Parades in 1996. She has also been a director Channel 4 Television, the Northern Ireland Electricity and the Royal Group of Hospitals Trust. In 1997 McAleese defeated former Taoiseach Albert Reynolds in an election for the Fianna Fáil nomination for the presidency. After a stormy campaign she outpolled her four rivals to succeed Mary Robinson. This was the first time in history that a woman had succeeded another woman as an elected head of state anywhere in the world. On 11 Nov 1997, Mary McAleese was inaugurated as the eighth President of Ireland. Biography source: [1]

Candidate First count (See note) Second count (See note)
Mary McAleese 574,424 706,259 (incl. 131,835 Nally's, Roche's and Scallon's votes)
Mary Banotti, née O'Mahony 372,002 497,516 (incl. 125,514 Nally's, Roche's and Scallon's votes)
Rosemary "Dana" Scallon, née Brown 175,458
Adi Roche 88,423
Derek Nally 59,529
total valid poll 1,269,836
spoiled votes 9,852
quota 634,919
Information source: [2]

[1] "A Dictionary of Irish Biography", ed. by Henry Boylan (Dublin: Gill & Macmillan, 1998).
[2] Toghcháin Uachtaráin 1938-1997 Presidential Elections. Dublin: Stationery Office, September 2000.
[3] Ireland State Gazette, , Tuesday, 5th October, 2004, Number 80, p. 1035.