Yugoslavia: Polity Style: 1918-2006

18 Nov/1 Dec 1918 proclamation of the unification of Serbia and of the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs into a single kingdom, public ceremony, residence of Prince Aleksandar, Belgrade
16/29 Dec 1918 parliament of Serbia approves the act of unification
18 Nov/1 Dec 1918 - 4 Oct 1929 Kraljevina Srba, Hrvata i Slovenaca (Краљевина Срба, Хрвата и Словенаца) = Kraljevina Srba, Hrvata i Slovenaca = Kraljevina Srbov, Hrvatov in Slovencev [1]
4 Oct 1929 name of the state is changed in accordance with a law on the name and division of the kingdom in administrative areas which is promulgated 3 Oct 1929 and comes into effect 4 Oct 1929 [2]
4 Oct 1929 - 17 Apr 1941 Kraljevina Jugoslavija (Краљевина Југославија) = Kraljevina Jugoslavija = Kraljevina Jugoslavija
17 Apr 1941 capitulation of Yugoslav forces and collapse of central government, polity dissolved and partially annexed by foreign intervention
29 Nov 1943 organised as a federation of Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, Macedonia, Montenegro, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, resolution of the Anti-Fascist Council of the People's Liberation of Yugoslavia (Antifašističko Vijeće Narodnog Oslobođenja Jugoslavije) of 29 Nov 1943 [AVNOJ Proceedings Sessions 1 and 2, 227-228] [3]
29 Nov 1943 - 29 Nov 1945 Demokratska Federativna Jugoslavija (Демократска Федеративна Југославија) = Demokratska Federativna Jugoslavija = Demokratična Federativna Jugoslavija
29 Nov 1945 proclamation of the Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbian, Macedonian: Federativna Narodna Republika Jugoslavija/Федеративна Народна Република Југославија; Croatian: Federativna Narodna Republika Jugoslavija; Slovenian: Federativna ljudska republika Jugoslavija), declaration of the Constituent Assembly passed 29 Nov 1945 with immediate effect (Serbian, Macedonian: Ustavotvorna Skupština/Уставотворна Скупштина, Croatian: Ustavotvorna Skupština, Slovenian: Ustavodajna Skupščina) (Yugoslavia Constituent Assembly Proceedings 1945-1946, pp. 75-78; Službeni list FNRJ, No. 93, 30 Nov 1945)
29 Nov 1945 - 7 Apr 1963 Federativna Narodna Republika Jugoslavija (Федеративна Народна Република Југославија) = Federativna Narodna Republika Jugoslavija = Federativna ljudska republika Jugoslavija
7 Apr 1963 name of the state is changed in accordance with the Constitution of 1963 which takes effect on the date of the promulgation by the Federal Assembly on 7 Apr 1963 as required by Art. 259 of the Constitution and a Constitutional Law of 7 Apr 1963 (Službeni list SFRJ, No. 14, 10 Apr 1963)
7 Apr 1963 - 27 Apr 1992 Socialistička Federativna Republika Jugoslavija (Социјалистичка Федеративна Република Југославија) = Socijalistička Federativna Republika Jugoslavija = Socialistična federativna republika Jugoslavija
27 Apr 1992 - 4 Mar 2003 Savezna Republika Jugoslavija (Савезна Република Југославија)
4 Mar 2003 Serbia and Montenegro form a state union
4 Mar 2003 - 4 Jun 2006 Srbija i Crna Gora (Србија и Црна Гора) [4]

[1] Originally proclaimed as Краљевство Срба, Хрвата и Словенаца = Kraljevstvo Srba, Hrvata i Slovenaca = Kraljestvo Srbov, Hrvatov in Slovencev; the change to Краљевина = Kraljevina = Kraljevina was imposed by the royal government in Sep 1920 and confirmed by the Constitution coming into operation 28 Jun 1921 (Службене новине, No. 142A, 28 Jun 1921).
[2] The change of the name is frequently dated as 3 Oct 1929 in the literature, although § 31 of the Закон о називу и подели Краљевине на управна подручја = Zakon o nazivu i podeli Kraljevine Jugoslavije na upravna podrušja = Zakon o nazivu in razdelitvi kraljevine na upravna območja (= Law on the Name and Division of the Kingdom in Administrative Areas) literally prescribed that the law would come into operation upon publication in the official gazette (Службене новине, No. 232, 4 Oct 1929).
[3] The resolution is traditionally dated 29 Nov 1943, but its actual passing took place most probably between 00:00 and 02:00 30 Nov 1943.
[4] In some official use: Državna zajednica Srbija i Crna Gora (Државна заједница Србија и Црна Гора) in Serbia, and Zajednica državna Srbija i Crna Gora (Заједница државна Србија и Црна Гора) in Montenegro.
Last updated on: 29 Sep 2013 12:32:10