South Carolina: Polity Style: 1721-2023 - Archontology

South Carolina: Polity Style: 1721-2023

30 May/10 Jun 1721 the first royal Governor is installed in office at a public ceremony held at Granville Bastion, Charleston (UK National Archives, CO 5/425, The Journal of the Proceedings of the Honourable the Governor and Council begun May the 29th 1721 and ending the 10th of June following)
14/25 May 1729 an agreement for the surrender of title and interest of the Lords Proprietors in the Province of Carolina is approved in accordance with an act passed by the Parliament of Great Britain (House of Commons on 6/17 May 1729, House of Lords on 10/21 May 1729, received Royal Assent on 14/25 May 1729) [British Commons Journal, 21:361; British Lords Journal, 23:427, 437; Laws of the Province of South-Carolina, 482-500] [1]
25 Jul/5 Aug 1729 the surrender of the Charter of Carolina is accomplished upon the issuing of a warrant for the payment of £17,500 by the Treasury Board to seven of the eight Lords Proprietors in pursuance of an act of 14/25 May 1729 [2][3]
15/26 Dec 1730 the Province of the South Carolina is constituted upon the installation of the first provincial Governor in Charleston in accordance with Royal Commission of 10 Jun 1730 and the Instructions of 17 Sep 1730 [South Carolina Council Journal, No. 5, p. 9] [4]
15/26 Dec 1730 - 4 Jul 1776 Province/Colony of South Carolina
4 Jul 1776 the British colonies represented in the Continental Congress are proclaimed "free and independent states" in accordance with a declaration approved by the Congress on 4 Jul 1776, session of the Continental Congress, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Journals of the Continental Congress, 5:510-515)
4 Jul 1776 - State of South Carolina [5]
5 Feb 1778 the delegates of South Carolina in the Continental Congress are authorized to agree to and ratify the Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union in accordance with a resolution passed by the General Assembly of South Carolina on 4 Feb 1778 (concurred in by the Legislative Council on 5 Feb 1778) [Journals of the Continental Congress, 11:670]
1 Mar 1781 South Carolina formed part of the United States upon the taking effect of the Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union (Journals of the Continental Congress, 19:213-223)
20 Dec 1860 South Carolina seceded from the United States in accordance with an ordinance passed by the Convention of the People of the State of South Carolina on 20 Dec 1865 [South Carolina Convention 1860, 42-45, 751-753] [6]
8 Feb 1861 South Carolina formed part of the Confederate States of America on the date when the Constitution for the Provisional Government of the Confederate States of America was approved by the Congress and came into operation (Confederate Congress Journal, 1:39; Confederate Statutes at Large, 1-8)
19 Sep 1865 the ordinance of secession is repealed by an ordinance passed by the Convention of the People of the State of South Carolina on 15 Sep 1865 (engrossed copy was ratified on 19 Sep 1865) [South Carolina Convention 1865, 27-29, 65, 181] [7]
15 Jul 1868 South Carolina is re-admitted to representation in the Congress of the United States in accordance with an act passed by the Congress of the United States (House of Representatives on 14 May 1868; Senate on 10 Jun 1868 with amendments; the amendments were concurred in by the House on 12 Jun 1868; vetoed by the President of the United States on 25 Jun 1868; the veto was overridden by the House of Representatives and by the Senate on 25 Jun 1868), took effect in South Carolina upon the passage of a resolution approving the Amendment XIV to the Constitution of the Unites States by the General Assembly of the State of South Carolina (Senate on 7 Jul 1868, House of Representatives on 9 Jul 1868, approved by the Governor on 15 Jul 1868) [Statutes at Large, 16:73, 16:704; South Carolina Senate Journal, 1868, 10-12; South Carolina House Journal, 1868, 50; Index to the Executive Documents printed by order of the Senate, 1867-68. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1868, Ex. Doc. No. 75, pt. 3] [8]

[1] Full title: An Act for establishing an Agreement with Seven of the Lords Proprietors of Carolina, for the Surrender of their Title and Interest in that Province to His Majesty.
[2] A Royal Warrant by the Queen, as Guardian of the Kingdom, for the payment of £17,500 "to Edward Bertie, of Gray's Inn, Samuel Horsey, of St. Martin's in the Fields, Henry Smith, of Caversham, Oxford, and Alexius Clayton" directed to the Lords of the Treasury is recorded in King's Warrant Book, 29:379-380, under #489 on 24 Jul/4 Aug 1729; the warrant from the Lords Commissioners of the Treasury is dated 25 Jul/5 Aug 1729 [Shaw, Wm. A. (ed.) Calendar of Treasury Books and Papers, 1729-1730. Preserved in Her Majesty's Public Record Office. London: Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1897, p. 267]; the actual payment appears to have taken place on 30 Jul/10 Aug 1729 as evident from a notice in The Daily Journal, No. 2675, 4 Aug 1729, p. 1, col. 3: "The Lords Proprietors of South Carolina having signed at the Treasury a Deed of Conveyance and Surrender of their Rights and Title of that Province, to the Crown, the Sum of 20,000 l. was on Wednesday last issued out of the Exchequer, being the Purchase Money agreed for..."
[3] Lord Carteret refused to sell his interests and continued to hold a one-eighth undivided share in the territory of North Carolina and South Carolina until 1744, when he gave up all claims to the remaining parts of the province in return for a large strip of land in North Carolina bordering on Virginia [North Carolina Colonial Records, 4:655-663]
[4] The establishment of two governments in Carolina and de facto partition of the province took place when the Lords Proprietors began to appoint separate governors (or deputy governors) for "the part of our province of Carolina that lyes South and West of Cape Fear" and for "the part of our Province of Carolina that lyes North and East of Cape Fear"; de iure Carolina remained undivided political entity until the surrender of the charter in 1729.
[5] The formal change in the polity style was never implemented. The proceedings of the Provincial Congress and Council of Safety (1775-1776) normally referred to South Carolina as "colony". This definition was also used in many articles of the Constitution or Form of Government, referring, for instance, to "President and Commander-in-Chief, and Vice-President of the colony". Soon after 4 Jul 1776, the "State of South Carolina" became a common style used by the government. The Constitution of 19 Mar 1778 ("An Act for establishing the constitution of the State of South Carolina") in Art. I formally confirmed "That the style of this country be hereafter the State of South Carolina."
[6] Full title: An Ordinance to dissolve the Union between the State of South Carolina and other States united with her under the compact entitled "The Constitution of the United States of America".
[7] Full title: An Ordinance To Repeal the Ordinance of Secession.
[8] Full title: An Act to Admit the States of North Carolina, South Carolina, Louisiana, Georgia, Alabama, and Florida, to Representation in Congress.
Last updated on: 21 Sep 2023 21:27:15; URL: