Netherlands (The): Heads of State: 1813-1940 -

The Netherlands: Heads of State: 1813-1940

Royal and Princely House: Oranje-Nassau
Bij de Gratie Gods, Prins van Oranje-Nassau, Souverein Vorst der Verenigde Nederlanden, enz., enz., enz. | By the Grace of God, Prince of Orange-Nassau, Sovereign Prince of the United Netherlands, etc., etc., etc.
2 Dec 1813 - 16 Mar 1815 Willem (Willem Frederik) [1]
Bij de Gratie Gods, Koning der Nederlanden, Prins van Oranje-Nassau, Groothertog van Luxemburg, enz., enz., enz. | By the Grace of God, King of the Netherlands, Prince of Orange-Nassau, Grand Duke of Luxembourg, etc., etc., etc. [2]
16 Mar 1815 - 7 Oct 1840 Willem (Willem Frederik) (x)
7 Oct 1840 - 17 Mar 1849 Willem II (Willem Frederik George Lodewijk) [3]
17 Mar 1849 - 23 Nov 1890 Willem III (Willem Alexander Paul Frederik Lodewijk) [3]
Bij de Gratie Gods, Koningin der Nederlanden, Prinses van Oranje-Nassau, enz., enz., enz. | By the Grace of God, Queen of the Netherlands, Princess of Orange-Nassau, etc., etc., etc.
23 Nov 1890 - 13 May 1940 Wilhelmina (Wilhelmina Helena Pauline Maria) [4]

[1] Also in Belgium and Luxembourg.
[2] Assumed the titles of Koning der Nederlanden (King of the Netherlands) and Hertog van Luxemburg (Duke of Luxembourg) in accordance with a proclamation of 16 Mar 1815 (Nederlandse Staatscourant, No. 65, 17 Mar 1815, p. 1). The meeting of the plenipotentiaries of the Great Powers in Vienna on 23 Mar 1815 confirmed the titles which had been adopted on 16 Mar 1815 and also agreed on the replacement of Hertog van Luxemburg with Groothertog van Luxemburg (Grand Duke of Luxembourg). The meeting protocol was formally signed on 24 Mar 1815 and annouced by the ministry of foreign affairs of the Netherlands in Nederlandse Staatscourant, No. 83, 7 Apr 1815, p. 1.
[3] Also in Luxembourg.
[4] Koningin-Weduwe, Regentes van het Koninkrijk | Queen Dowager, Regent of the Kingdom (regent during the minority of Wilhelmina)
  23 Nov 1890 - 31 Aug 1898 Emma (Adelheid Emma Wilhelmina Theresia, prinses van Waldeck en Pyrmont)
Last updated on: 10 Jan 2022 21:53:20