Macedonia: Albanian Language Usage

The "Framework Agreement" of 13 Aug 2001, usually referred to as the "Ohrid Agreement", aims at integrating the Albanian-speaking community in Macedonia into the political life of the state. The consequential Constitutional amendments of 11 Nov 2001 and the implementing legislation enacted 19 Jun 2002, perceived by some as ambiguous and in any event implemented with exceptional reluctance, lead to the still-disputed understanding that Shqip (the Albanian language) has become an official language of Macedonia, jointly with Makedonski (the Macedonian language).
Subject to this understanding, the following Shqip versions of terms and names in the record are in order, from 19 Jun 2002:
Makedonija = Maqedonia
Republika Makedonija = Republika e Maqedonisë
Pretsedatel na Republika Makedonija = President i Republikës së Maqedonisë
Pretsedatel na Sobranieto na Republika Makedonija = Kryetar i Kuvendit të Republikës së Maqedonisë
Ljupčo R. Jordanovski = Ljupço R. Jordanovski
Branko Crvenkovski = Branko Cërvenkovski
Ðorge Ivanov = Gjorgje Ivanov
Last updated on: 26 Jun 2009 03:48:30