Iran: Glossary -

The accuracy of records appearing in this section was not entirely verified by editors and requires further research. Please contact us if you have any questions or would like to share information.

Iran: Glossary

Jumhūr-i Islāmī-i Īrān = Islamic Republic of Iran
Kishwar-i Shāhanshāh-i Īrān = Empire of Iran (literally: King-of-King's Country of Iran)
Mamālik-i Maḥrusa-i Īrān = (God-)Protected Realms of Iran
Pādshāh-i kull-i Mamālik-i Īrān = Great King of All the Realms of Iran
Rahbar = Leader
Rahbar-i Inqilāb = Leader of the Revolution
Ra’īs-i Jumhūr = President of the Republic
Ra’īs-i Wālat-i Muwaqqat-i Dawla = Head of the Provisional Government of Iran
Shāhanshāh-i Īrān = Emperor of Iran (literally: King-of-Kings of Iran)
Shāh-i Īrān = King of Iran
Shūrā-i Muwaqqat-i Ri’āsat-i Jumhūrī = Provisional Presidency-of-the-Republic Council
Wakīl al-Ra‘āyā = Trustee of the People
Last updated on: 21 Sep 2009 16:29:27