India: Polity Style: 1947-2023 -

India: Polity Style: 1947-2023

15 Aug 1947 partition of British India and Indian States into the Dominions of India and Pakistan and proclamation of its independence upon the taking effect of Indian Independence Act 1947 ("An Act to make provision for the setting up in India of two independent Dominions, to substitute order provisions for certain provisions of the Government of India Act, 1935, which apply outside those Dominions, and to provide for other matters consequential on or connected with the setting up of those Dominions") [Gazette of India, 18 July 1947]
15 Aug 1947 - 26 Jan 1950 Bhārata Adhirājya = Dominion of India [1]
26 Jan 1950 commencement of the Constitution of India in accordance with Art. 394 (passed by the Constituent Assembly 26 Nov 1949)
26 Jan 1950 - Bhārata = India [2][3]

[1] The Hindi-language style (Bhārata Adhirājya) appears only retrospectively in Constitutional use.
[2] The authoritative texts of the Constitution style the polity Bhārata, athīt Iṃdiyā (Hindi) and India, that is Bharat (English).
[3] The preamble to the Constitution establishes the polity as Saṃpūrṇa-Prabhutva-Saṃpanna Lokatantrātmaka Gaṇarājya = Sovereign Democratic Republic, but these words are not made part of the official style of the polity.
Last updated on: 16 Nov 2009 21:00:00