Finland: Polity Style: 1808-2017

16/28 Mar 1808 Russian imperial declaration on annexation of Finnish lands in possession of Sweden communicated to the Great Powers [Complete Collection of Russian Laws I, 30:22899]
20 Mar/1 Apr 1808 annexation of Finland is proclaimed, manifest of the Emperor [Complete Collection of Russian Laws I, 30:22911]
25 Dec 1808/6 Jan 1809 grand princely title of Finland is included in the Russian imperial title, decree of the Emperor [Complete Collection of Russian Laws I, 30:23421]
25 Dec 1808/6 Jan 1809 - 27 Oct/9 Nov 1917 Storfurstendömet Finland | Grand Principality of Finland [1]
1/13 Oct 1809 Ratification of the Treaty of Fredrikshamn (signed 5/17 Sep 1809), finalizing the transfer of Finnish territories, in international law, from Swedish to Russian control [Complete Collection of Russian Laws I, 30:23883]
27 Oct/9 Nov 1917 the Eduskunta (Diet) begins to exercise sovereign authority by passing a resolution on appointment of a Council of Regency (not implemented) [2]
27 Oct/9 Nov 1917 - Suomi = Finland [3][4][5]

[1] Also in limited official use: Velikoe Knjažestvo Finljandskoe (Великое Княжество Финляндское) in Russian; Suomen suuriruhtinaanmaa in Finnish.
[2] The Declaration of Independence (passed on 23 Nov/6 Dec 1917) is intended as a preamble to a republican Constitution, but the Eduskunta wavers; after an attempt to establish a monarchy on 9 Oct 1918, returns to preparing a republican Constitution.
[3] The dissident government (Suomen kansanvaltuuskunta) formed during the civil war in opposition to Suomen senaatti (Swedish: Senaten för Finland) used "Suomen sosialistinen työväentasavalta" (Finnish Socialist Workers' Republic) as the polity name in an agreement with Russia (1 Mar 1918) but this practice does not appear to have been extended to national legislation.
[4] After the promulgation of the Form of Government (Constitution) 17 Jul 1919, Suomen tasavalta = Republiken Finland becomes officially accepted name of the state, although it was not given any Constitutional recognition except for a mention in the presidential affirmation of office.
[5] Alternative style used in addition to Suomi by a dissident government (Suomen kansanhallitus) formed in Terijoki (now Zelenogorsk, Russia) between 1 Dec 1939 and 12 Mar 1940: Suomen kansanvaltainen tasavalta (Finnish Democratic Republic)
Last updated on: 24 Apr 2017 12:41:53