British India and Indian States: Polity Style: 1858-1947 -

British India and Indian States: Polity Style: 1858-1947

1 Nov 1858 administration of the territories in India transferred from the East India Company to the monarchy of the United Kingdom in accordance with An Act for the Better Government of India (Government of India Act, 1858) [1]
1 Nov 1858 - 15 Aug 1947 India
15 Aug 1947 partitioned in accordance with Art. 1 of the Indian Independence Act 1947 into India and Pakistan [2][3]

[1] The act is passed 8 Jul 1858, assented to 2 Aug 1858, effective upon the reading of the Royal Proclamation at the Durbar held in Allahabad 1 Nov 1858.
[2] Princely states, not directly administered by the United Kingdom, regain sovereignty and then and later accede to either India or Pakistan.
[3] Indian Independence Act 1947 ("An Act to make provision for the setting up in India of two independent Dominions, to substitute other provisions for certain provisions of the Government of India Act, 1935, which apply outside those Dominions, and to provide for other matters consequential on or connected with the setting up of those Dominions") (Gazette of India, 18 July 1947)
Last updated on: 07 Jun 2023 07:25:28