Elizabeth II (Australia)

Elizabeth II

b. 21 Apr 1926, London

Title: By the Grace of God, of Great Britain, Ireland and the British Dominions beyond the Seas Queen, Defender of the Faith
Term: 6 Feb 1952 - 29 May 1953
Chronology: 6 Feb 1952, succeeded her father, George VI
Title: By the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom, Australia and Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith [1]
Term: 29 May 1953 - 19 Oct 1973
  28 May 1953, royal style changed according to the Royal Proclamation under the Great Seal of Australia establishing for Australia the following Royal Style and Titles (made public 29 May 1953)
  2 Jun 1953, crowned, Westminster Abbey
Title: By the Grace of God Queen of Australia and Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth
Term: 19 Oct 1973 -
Chronology: 19 Oct 1973, royal style changed upon public proclamation of the Royal Assent to the Royal Style and Titles Act 1973 [2]
Names/titles: Private name: Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor [to 20 Nov 1947]; Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Mountbatten [20 Nov 1947 - 9 Apr 1952]; Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor [from 9 Apr 1952]

Elizabeth is the elder daughter of Albert Duke of York, who succeeded to the British throne as George VI in 1936. On 20 Nov 1947 she married Philip Mountbatten (formerly Philippos Prince of Greece and Denmark; created Duke of Edinburgh, Earl of Merioneth, Baron Greenwich and granted the qualification of Royal Highness, 19 Nov 1947). In January 1952, Princess Elizabeth and her husband set out for a tour of Australia and New Zealand, but en route, at Sagana, Kenya, news reached them of the king's death. Her accession was proclaimed by the Privy Council on 6 Feb 1952. The new queen returned to London arriving on 7 Feb 1952. Following the Commonwealth Conference in December 1952, it was announced that each of the Commonwealth governments would ask their parliaments for changes in the royal title, as inherited by Elizabeth from her father, and that apart from naming Elizabeth II as Head of the Commonwealth all the titles would be different, both from the former uniform title and from each other.

[1] In the final Royal Proclamation under this Style, dated 28 May 1953, the word possessions is replaced by Territories.
[2] Commonwealth of Australia Gazette. 1973. No. 152. P. 5.
  Image: photograph by Karsh - Camera Press/Globe Photos, 1985.
Last updated on: 24 May 2010 22:26:30